top of page

California Personal Injury Law

California Personal injury law establishes the legal framework for imposing civil liability for injuries and fatalities on individuals whose inattentive, careless or intentional acts cause injury to others.

Call us now +1 818-244-0050


California personal injury laws entitle you to claim for compensation when you have suffered injuries due to someone else’s fault.

If you have suffered personal injuries due to other person’s intention to hurt you or their reckless behavior, you are entitled to damages recovery for your injury-related harms and losses. Our experienced and skilled Los Angeles personal injury lawyers at the John Akopian Law Firm will help you claim in the time limits and will help you determine how much your case is worth and what is the fastest way to get maximum possible compensation - as you deserve for the pain you have been through due to the injuries.






After Your Injury


The wisest thing to do as soon as you get injured is to call a personal injury lawyer for advice. Liable persons and insurance companies will try to make you settle for a small compensation, but with the right California injury lawyer on your side, you can claim for what you deserve. Other things to consider include:

  • Take care of your injuries immediately.

  • Do not give any statements to anyone other than police about the accident before speaking to a lawyer. If you say something wrong, you may make it harder to recover.

  • Do not sign any releases or potential claims of liability before speaking to a lawyer. It may take you out of the road to damages recovery.

  • Document all injuries and damages of property. Get copies of accident reports, take pictures and videos, gather medical documentation, keep invoices and receipts, document time off work, document new symptoms, etc. These will serve as an evidence of your injuries.

  • Get contact information of witnesses, such as emails, phone numbers, addresses, etc. They will help you prove that the accident wasn’t your fault.

  • Open a claim with the other person's insurance company.


How Much Time Do You Have To File for Recovery?


California personal injury laws limit the time to file for damages recovery. We will investigate circumstances of your case and will make sure that you don’t exceed the time limits, but you can expect to advise you that the limitations start when you have become aware of the injuries or when you should have become aware of it. The time limits are as follows:


  • Negligence - 2 years (slip and fall, negligent security, car accidents, etc.)

  • Wrongful death - 1 year

  • Assault or battery - 1 year

  • Products liability - 2 years

  • Strict liability - 2 years

  • Defamation - 1 year


Damages You May Receive


What damages you may receive depends on the specific circumstances of your case and the type of injuries that you have suffered. Our California personal injury lawyers at the John Akopian Law Firm will analyze how it happened and what are the consequences, and you will get compensated for some or all of the following:


  • Medical treatment (including visits to doctor, medications, etc.)

  • Lost wages

  • Loss of financial support for members of your family

  • Emotional pain and stress

  • Scarring and disfigurement

  • Funeral costs

  • Punitive damages (compensation given as punishment)

  • Injury to reputation


From our vast experience in California injury law cases, we know how hard it is for a person to deal with personal injuries. It does not only affect the injured person but the family as well. In such hard moments dealing with damages recovery claims is not the most desirable thing to do. You don't have to do this alone. Call our California personal injury lawyers at the john Akopian Law Firm for assistance.

You just sit back and let us fight for your rights and get you compensated as you deserve. Call +1 818-244-0050 for free consultations and let's get to work.



bottom of page