The Best DUI Lawyers in Los Angeles, CA
Driving under influence is an irresponsible behavior, but let's face it - everybody has done it, but few have got caught. Although it seems naive, being charged and convicted for DUI can have serious consequences. First and foremost, it can be a frightening experience for good people like you to get arrested and face losing a driving license and even serving some jail time. To avoid all that, call our California DUI lawyers at the John Akopian Law Firm. We spend lots of time in police station and courtrooms helping people who’ve made such a mistake. We ensure that each and every case get the fight it deserves with defense strategies that have been tested and proven successful many times.
What Happens When You Get Caught?
After being pulled over, the police officer might interrogate you. He or she will ask few questions, and the answers you provide can be later used against you. They are called "incriminating statements. If you were caught while driving under influence, we advise you to avoid answering any questions before speaking to a DUI lawyer.
It is likely that the police officer will ask you to take a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) test. Don’t refuse to do it. If the test shows under 0.08% of alcohol in your blood, you’re free to go. If it shows more than 0.08% of alcohol in the blood, the police officer will issue a Notice of Suspension form and will take away your driver’s license.
If you refuse to take the test, you will be arrested and won’t avoid losing the license. If you are 21 years old or older, you’ll lose it for four months. If you are younger than 21, you’ll lose the driving license for one year.
How to Challenge the License Suspension?
Once your driving license has been suspended, you have ten days to request for administrative hearing. That's a chance to challenge the suspension. By hiring an experienced California DUI lawyer, you'll increase your chances greatly.
California DUI Penalties
Driving under influence in California means going to California criminal court. Aside from losing the driving license, your penalties may include:
Serving up to six months in jail
Paying up to $1000 in fines
Attending a DUI program
Regardless of the penalty you get, the California DMV will be notified, and you'll receive two points on your California driving license. They will stay there for ten years. Keep in mind that receiving too many points in a certain period of time may lead to suspension of your driving license.
Last, but not least, being convicted for DUI will raise your car insurance rates. Insurance companies usually require drivers convicted for DUI fill an SR-22 form, which they charge for.
Although DUI may seem like a naive crime, penalties are not naïve at all. Losing your driving license might affect your everyday needs and lifestyle seriously. Having in mind that the law enforcement takes DUI seriously and loves to practice authority on reckless drivers, you shouldn’t try to do this alone. Call us at +1 818-244-0050 for help and let’s start the fight.